PhilippineDailyMirror.com

Thu11272014

Last update 04:45:48 AM EST

Unlimited Web HostingYour ad here spot #2An imaginative wedding photographer with the ability to create unique and breathtaking photographs beyond expectations.Your ad here spot #4Your ad here spot #5Your ad here spot #6Your ad here spot #7Your ad here spot #8Social Networking Community for PhotographersYour ad here spot #10Your ad here spot #11Your ad here spot #12Your ad here spot #13Your ad here spot #14Your ad here spot #15Gadget reviews, guides and blogs
Back Opinion OP-ED Jose Ma. Montelibano
Jose Ma. Montelibano
Jose Ma. Montelibano

Jose Ma. Montelibano

16 May 2013
Rate this item
(0 votes)

I really like what Sen. Serge Osmeña said about the recently concluded senatorial elections, “P-Noy won but Binay did not lose.”

In my view, the 9-3 score is an affirmation of the President’s popularity. I do not believe that voters elected the senators because P-Noy said so, or (Vice President Jejomar) Binay said so. That P-Noy or Binay said so may have affirmed the choices of the people and strengthened their resolve to vote accordingly, but certainly the people chose.

Why, then, did P-Noy win if the choice was of the people? Simple. The most winnable candidates chose to be with P-Noy. That is why P-Noy won – because the most winnable believed they could increase their already good chances of winning by allying themselves with the most popular P-Noy.

09 May 2013
Rate this item
(0 votes)

It’s that time again when traditional sources roll out their unsolicited advice. Vote wisely, vote responsibly, don’t sell your vote, etc. Now that the Internet affords more opportunity for any user to join the chorus from traditional media, including posters on Church walls, the volume of unsolicited advice has increased.

I have been listening to or reading the same unsolicited advice for more than fifty years. It puzzles me why it doesn’t stop. It sure has done from little to nothing in pushing the objective of the unsolicited advice. Why do the givers of unsolicited advice continue to do what has failed their cause for decades?

03 May 2013
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Poverty in the Philippines cannot be effectively and substantially resolved. All the king’s horses and all the king’s men cannot raise at least 5 million Filipino families out of poverty, not for as long as they do not change the way they look at the poor.

The poor are not the problem, we are. The poor are the victims, not the cause, of poverty. If government wants to effectively and substantially address the cancer we call poverty, then government has to look at itself as the primary culprit. After it, the next culprit is the Church and the elite that have long been in bed with government.

It may be that there is less malice among the culprits than a historical amnesia, and greed, of course. Government shamefully forgets our very history, especially the fact that we were never an impoverished people until we were conquered, abused and exploited by our colonizers. Because poverty was not a natural state of the natives of our islands until we were baptized “Filipinos” by Spain, there is an easy way to trace our poverty.

28 Apr 2013
Rate this item
(0 votes)

After a lot of traveling abroad, I have picked up local traveling once more, taking advantage of summer and special events taking place in the Philippines. Last month, I went to four provinces in one week to attend the most spectacular volunteer event ever held in the country, the Bayani Challenge 2013. 80,000 Filipinos (with some foreigners, too) joined the event, most of them for five whole days, at their own expense. The Bayani Challenge invites the participant to be part of community-based activities which range from building homes for the poor, repairing/repainting public school buildings, planting trees, rehabilitating mangroves, medical missions, and giving poor children the time of their lives with games, food and balloons. For five days, Filipinos gave of themselves to prove bayanihan works and should be the foundation of nation-building. 37 sites in 33 provinces hosted Bayani  Challenge 2013.

Last week, I went to Cebu, Leyte and Southern Leyte.  Now, I am in the middle of a Bicol visit which I hope will take me all the way to Catanduanes if I have the time. These sojourns to many local areas which I hope to increase by the week are a great refresher course to me, a blessing in so many ways because I am allowed to be with people on the ground. Writing can tempt someone to stay in the air, or get lost in the clouds of thoughts and ideas, enough to lose the pulse of those with feet so grounded on the earth. I enjoy the different local delicacies, especially fresh sea food, too, a bonus for traveling that challenges an aging body.

18 Apr 2013
Rate this item
(0 votes)

I am on a ferry boat from Cebu on its way to Hilongos, Leyte. It has been some time since I have taken this route to reach Maasin, Southern Leyte, which is my final destination for today. My age does not encourage me to do traveling like this anymore. After all, I had to wake up at 3 am to be in the airport by 4 am, then take off for Cebu by 6 am. When we dock at Hilongos, I still have an hour of driving to get to Maasin, making today an air, sea and land trek. But this is the Philippines, and traveling can be an adventure in itself.

From the airport early in the morning and in between meetings in Cebu, I have been looking at the news from print, TV and cyberspace. Even the kind of traveling I am doing now, it is most possible to stay wired to domestic and global developments. Truly, it is the dawn of the 21st century, even for our country, the long – struggling third world member making a great effort to leap forward. It is not just technology, it is a people blessed with great talent that can use the present and emerging technologies.

11 Apr 2013
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Losing a friend as many and I have in William MacGregor Esposo, or Billy, despite our having accepted a long time ago that death was an active and constant threat to him, is always an emotional trauma. We who had been among Billy’s closest friends in the last two decades are not strangers to the dramas of life, not at our ages. And we have not been strangers to danger, excitement and radical change either – these had brought us together, kept us together, and made our friendships even stronger.

In my Blog and Facebook page, I had quietly vented my grief from Sunday morning when I was in Jakarta attending a special event help by GK Indonesia. I had wanted to take the first plane home but it was already too late to say goodbye to Billy before he died. I had to process a personal loss by myself mostly, and it was bearable only because I am of an age where death should be a more familiar reality.

05 Apr 2013
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Politicians have become entertainers, and entertainers have become politicians. For as long as Filipinos seek entertainment more than good governance, then it will continue to be entertainers becoming politicians and politicians become entertainers.

Entertainment tends to distract us from our daily worries, or the exhaustion from our daily routine. With the kind of extreme poverty that a third of our people suffer from, and almost another third that are moderately poor, by our standards, of course, class struggle and bloody revolution could have overtaken our society a long time ago. But the capacity for entertainment to be a major and effective vent of frustration allowed the revolutions we had at Edsa I and Edsa Dos to be peaceful.

21 Mar 2013
Rate this item
(0 votes)

It is time to review the program of subsidizing state universities and colleges. Like any government expense, school subsidies must have justification, their objectives clear and desirable, and their results measurable and proportionately beneficial to the common good.

The massive support for public school system from grade school to high school is understandable and necessary. It is not really about education per se because there is no question about the value of education. Rather, it is about giving everyone the chance to access that education, most especially the millions of young Filipinos who are too poor to afford a grade school to high school education.

15 Mar 2013
Rate this item
(0 votes)

 

The noisy Filipino went at it again. All the commentators, from traditional media to social media, could simply not help themselves. We had to bash ourselves again, maybe because the rest of the world had nothing but good to say about us. When people have gotten used to being failures, they do not know what to do with success.

Democracy guarantees the freedom of speech, even the kind that does not help rebuild our broken self-image from decades of decline. The memory of a brutal dictatorship or presidents who plundered must have become so much of our inner context that we miss them when they are not there. It matters little that we went to the streets to be rid of them because they had been our furniture for so long. And their children can pervert the historical truth because we easily forget and do not teach our own children to remember the evil wrought on a whole people.

09 Mar 2013
Rate this item
(0 votes)

 

A strange thing happened a few days ago. Nur Misuari came out in media blasting President Aquino, gave the President unsolicited advice, and then accused him of siding with Malaysia against Filipinos. I kept reading the news (thankfully, I missed the bizarre scene on TV) and wondered how history is so easily forgotten. And I am not talking only about Sabah.

From 1704 to 1962, Sabah was neither here nor there. From the Sultan of Brunei, Sabah was given to the Sultanate of Sulu. I am not a historian with a wealth of information, but the fact remains that there were no official historical details ever taught in school about Sabah as being part of the Philippines from 1704 to 1962. In fact, because of the drama that is occurring in Sabah now, most Filipinos are learning for the first time about Sabah and a claim that has been comatose for decades.

Page 6 of 15

 

New York Wedding Photographer

New York Wedding Photographer

New York Wedding Photographer An imaginative wedding photographer with the ability to create unique and breathtaking photographs beyond expectations.

We photograph your wedding in a style that reflects your love, romance, hopes, and dreams. We take the time to get to know you, then help you realize the true story of your special day in photographs. Let Edwin Ochoa Photography capture the romance, excitement and joy of your wedding day. A wedding is a once in a lifetime experience. This your special day and we treat it as ours.