CA confirms Remonde; four more Cabinet men, others in cue

by Kobakila News

MANILA (May 13) — The bicameral Commission on Appointments (CA), in a plenary action Wednesday, gave its consent to the appointment of Press Secretary Cerge Remonde.

This leaves only four Cabinet men — Environment Secretary Jose Atienza Jr., Economic Planning Secretary Ralph Recto, Energy Secretary Angelo Reyes, and Labor Secretary Marianito Roque — whose appointments still do not have the CA’s consent, according to Cebu Rep. Eduardo Gullas, head of the House contingent to the commission.

Besides the four Cabinet men, Gullas said 62 other executives at the Department of Foreign Affairs, Department of National Defense, and two constitutional offices are still pending CA confirmation.

“Our target now is for the CA committees to hopefully screen as many executives over the next two weeks. This way, those endorsed by the committees may be confirmed through plenary action two or three days before Congress adjourns sine die on June 5,” Gullas said.

The appointees or nominees that still do not have the CA’s consent include Civil Service Commission chairman Ricardo Saludo and Commission on Elections (Comelec) members Leonardo Leonida and Elias Yusoph.

Likewise pending confirmation are a batch of 33 diplomats led by Ambassadors Alexander Yano (to Brunei); Ma. Corazon Yap-Bahjin (to the Kingdom of Bahrain); and Alejandro Del Rosario (to Poland).

Also pending consent are 26 senior military officers led by Lt. Gen. Raymundo Ferrer, chief of the Armed Forces’ Eastern Mindanao Command based in Davao City; seven majors general, including former Presidential Security Group commander Romeo Prestoza; 11 brigadiers general; two rears admiral; two commodores; and three colonels.

The Constitution vests the CA with the power to approve or discommend presidential appointments. This is part of the checks and balances established by the Constitution to ensure that all government departments function in a manner most beneficial to the public welfare.

Among those subject to CA confirmation are the heads of executive departments, ambassadors, other public ministers and consuls, military officers from the rank of colonel or naval captain, and the heads and members of constitutional commissions and offices.

You may also like

Leave a Comment