Derrick Rose of Chicago Bulls named Rookie of the Year

by Kobakila News

Derrick Rose became the third Bulls player to win the Rookie of the Year award, outright Michael Jordan in 1984-85 and Elton Brand shared the award in ’99-00. He received 111 first-place votes and 574 points from a national panel of sports writers and broadcasters throughout United States and Canada; runner-up O.J. Mayo of the Memphis Grizzlies received five first-place votes and 127 points.

Rose’s selection was hardly a surprise, after the No. 1 overall draft pick led all rookies with 6.3 assists per game and was second in scoring average at 16.8, and established himself as the franchise’s first true cornerstone since Jordan.

Rose wore No. 23 in his lone season at Memphis in honor of Jordan but chose the No. 1 when he got to the league because … well, a guy’s number is generally off limits if he has a statue outside the building. The number Rose chose will be appropriate, though, if Rose can be the One to move the Bulls and their fans past the Jordan Era.

Source: Dave McMenamin,

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.