december 2021

03dec8:30 pm10:00 pmRiver of Tears and Rage Film Screening

more

Event Details

Please join Malaya Movement USA on Dec. 3rd for a virtual film screening of “River of Tears & Rage” as we uplift the struggle of political prisoner Reina Mae Nasino and her 3-month-old child, Baby River Emmanuel.

The film features human rights defender and activist Reina Mae Nasino, a political prisoner in the Philippines arrested under trumped-up charges a month into her pregnancy. She endured a difficult pregnancy in one of the world’s most crowded prisons and gave birth to Baby River Emmanuel while in detention. Efforts to allow mother and child to spend more time together failed, the Philippine government justifying their early separation to the lack of infant care facilities inside prisons. Denied care from her mother, Baby River died at only three months old.

River of Tears and Rage is a film culled from Kodao Productions’ Facebook Live coverage of Baby River’s wake and burial. Amid a raging coronavirus pandemic, Baby River became a symbol of political repression by a regime denounced worldwide for its crimes against the people.

WHAT: River of Tears and Rage Film Screening
WHEN : Dec. 3rd @ 5:30pm PT | 7:30pm CT| 8:30pm ET
REGISTER: tinyurl.com/baby-river-film
FOR MORE INFO: malayamovement@gmail.com

Time

(Friday) 8:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

X