Ten Young FilAm Leaders Ready for an ‘Immersion’ Trip to PH

by Kobakila News

NEW YORK – The Philippine Embassy in Washington, DC has announced the 10 delegates to the Filipino-American Young Leaders Program (FYLPRO) 2017 including Brooklyn native Amanda J. Bernardo, Esq.

This year’s 10 delegates are from 7 states and Guam. Two delegates each are representing California and Virginia, and one delegate each from the states of New York,  Illinois, California, Alaska, Hawaii, and Washington.

They will be travelling to the Philippines to meet with leaders of government, industry, business, culture, and social enterprise from 8 to 14 October in what is considered an ‘immersion’ experience.

Bernardo, representing New York, is an immigration attorney. She is the Chair of the Immigration Committee of the Asian American Bar Association of New York, and the Public Relations Chair of the Filipino American Lawyers of New York. She recently collaborated with Congresswoman Nydia Velasquez and Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Jose Antonio Vargas to educate Filipino immigrants on their rights in the United States.

She has helped win asylum for refugees, and has assisted in transforming the experience of Filipinos and underrepresented communities in the immigration system.

For her FYLPRO legacy project, she plans to launch a US-wide “Know Your Rights and Resources” program for new Filipino immigrants.

The other FYLPRO delegates are Marjorie Baltazar (Chicago, IL), Ryan Dalusag (Laguna Niguel, CA), Eric Jon David (Anchorage, AK), Tyler Dos Santos-Tam (Honolulu, HI), Rebecca Elmore (Guam), Ireneo Reus III (Long Beach, CA), Christal Simanski (Alexandria, VA), Ryann Tanap (Arlington, VA), and Ray Villanueva (Seattle, WA).

Bernardo joins ten other FYLPRO alumni from the US Northeast since the flagship program’s launch in 2012: Michael Vea (New York, 2012); Steven Raga (New York, 2012); Rachelle Peraz Ocampo (New York, 2013); Edward Santos (New York, 2013); Ryan Letada (New Jersey, 2014); Bernadette Contreras (New York, 2014); Nicole Ponseca (New York, 2015); Jennifer Coliflores (Massachusetts, 2015); Jhett Tolentino (New York, 2016), and Noel Joseph Aglubat (New York, 2016).

FYLPRO was established in 2012 by Philippine Ambassador to the U.S., Jose L. Cuisia, Jr. and Mrs. Victoria J. Cuisia in cooperation with the Ayala Foundation Inc. (AFI). FYLPRO’s mission is to identify, each year, ten outstanding young professionals in the Filipino communities across the United States and provide the delegates with invaluable community, business, and government insights and access to a distinguished network captains of industry and government. These selected individuals are called the FYLPRO delegates.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.